Newsletter Subscribe

Blog & Comments

Arriving Soon


The Man Who Lost Himself

by Henry de Vere Stacpoole on 2018-02-20

Henry De Vere Stacpoole (1863-1951) was a Victorian period author, born in Kingstown, Ireland. A ship's doctor for more than forty years, Stacpoole was also an expert on the South Pacific islands. His many books contained detailed descriptions of the natural life and civilizations which he was so close to at home. The Blue Lagoon (1908), is a romance novel, the first of a trilogy, the second being The Garden of God (1923) and the third being The Gates of Morning (1925). The plot is about two young children who are shipwrecked on a tropical island in the South Pacific. Emotional feelings and physical changes arise as they grow to maturity and fall in love. Other works include: The Pearl Fishers (1915), The Man Who Lost Himself (1918), Green Coral (1935), Men (1942) and Mice (1945).